Reciprocal exchange can be at the same time (simultaneous) or at different times (non simultaneous).
If your exchange is simultaneous or non simultaneous but you both know the dates, these are the steps you need to take to finalize the exchange:
1) Change the exchange type from non reciprocal to reciprocal exchange
All exchanges are set as non reciprocal by default. You can change this on the right hand side of the message, in the exchange details. In line with "Exchange Type" click on the red pencil beside the "non reciprocal exchange".
As you do so, a menu will open where you can click on the "reciprocal exchange":
2) Add and/or update the details of the exchange
You can also add/update other details (dates, number of travelers, GuestPoints) of your trip and that of your guest within the two tabs "Your trip" and "X's trip".
In the tab "Your trip", you can update all the information about your trip: your dates, your number of travelers.
If you click on the "X trip", you will see the same information but you will not have the option to update this information. In the tab "X's trip" you will be able to only edit the number of GuestPoints per night in your home.
Small tip I: If you can see a red pencil next to all or one of those details, you can update this information. If you do not see it, this information can only be updated by your exchange partner.
Small tip II: as you and/or your exchange partner make these changes, you will see within your message thread that those changes were made and who made them. To differentiate it from your messages, this will show in light grey:
3) Pre-approve the exchange
Once you have both agreed on the details of the exchange, one of you must pre-approve the exchange by clicking on the orange "Pre-approve" button.
As you click on the Pre-approve a note will show alerting you that you are about to pre-approve the exchange.
Note I: If you already have an exchange pre-approved or finalized exchange for those dates, you will see alert on this note that you have exchange pre-approved or even finalized.
Note II: If any of the members updates the exchange details after it was pre-approved, you will be prompted to pre-approve the exchange again with new details.
4) Finalize the exchange
Once the exchange has been pre-approved, the other exchange partner can now finalize the exchange. Then the member who initiated the pre-approval can also finalize it. To finalize the exchange, click on "Finalize" at the bottom of the right side of the screen:
If you are a member with Essential plan, where you pay per night for every exchange, you will also see the amount you need to pay (on the above screen you can see $15). Also, you will see "Continue" button instead of "Finalize" button. As you click on the "Continue" button, you will be re-directed to the page where you will have information that the HomeExchange Service is not included and that you can choose your Plan for this exchange. On this page, you will see the "Finalize" button. By clicking on it, you will be redirected to the secure payment page where you can choose the Plan and pay for HomeExchange Service.
Once you have both finalized the exchange, the exchange is set to go. You will see the exchange as "Finalized" and by clicking on the "Exchange Details" button, you can see your exchange partner's details.
If you would like to finalize the reciprocal, non simultaneous exchange but one exchange partner does not know the dates and will know them at later stage, the best way is to finalize 2 non reciprocal exchange with or without GuestPoints. You can check this link on how to finalize non reciprocal exchange.