What are preferred destinations?
By saving your preferred destinations, you will create an alert that notify you by email every time a house that matches your search requirements is added to HomeExchange. The search requirements that the systems saves would be: the city you are interested in, the number of guests, dates and any other filters that you have added to the search.
How can I save a preferred destination?
There are two different ways to save a preferred destination:
1) Perform a search by adding a place you would like to go to. We recommend that you add dates and the number of guests so that the system shows you more accurate results. If you wish, you can also add filters such as listings that have a pool, number of GuestPoints per night, etc.
Then, click on the button "Save this destination" which you will find just below the dates.
2) Go directly to your preferred destinations section, where you can find and add all your dream destinations:
To do this, hover your cursor on "Profile" at the top right hand corner of the screen and then click on "My preferred destinations".
Once there, you will be able to see all your destinations and/or add new ones. To add a preferred destination, simply click on "Add a new destination".
You can add up to 20 preferred destinations to your Profile.
We have limited the number of preferred destinations for 2 reasons:
1) the preferred destinations are an indication of the places you want to visit the most and, though the world is very big and lots of places are tempting, we feel that 20 is a pretty good bucket list!
2) by limiting the preferred destinations to 20, the search results for your reverse search as well as your Profile page will load more efficiently.
Note: if you had more than 20 destinations saved in the previous version of the website, we kept the 20 you created most recently. Please take a look to confirm they reflect your current preferences.
How can I delete the email notifications for my preferred destinations?
To look at or delete your preferred destinations, hover your cursor on "Profile" at the top right hand corner of the screen and then click on "My preferred destinations". There, you can delete a search and activate or deactivate the email notifications.
Once in "Preferred destinations", you can:
1) Continue having the preferred destination but stop receiving email notifications of new houses created on the platform that fit your search. For this, click on the blue button beside "Email alerts".
2) Delete your search by clicking on the trash can icon.
Can other members see my preferred destinations? And can I see theirs?
Yes! This information is public. You will be able to see the favorite destinations of the other members and they can see yours. There are 2 ways to see preferred destinations:
1) On the public profile, the preferred destinations will be shown just below the verification levels.
2) See the preferred destinations from the listing you are viewing:
On the right, you will find the information of the owner of the house and you will be able to see their preferred destinations in a general sense. To find out more, simply click on "See more":
Why is it important to save my preferred destinations?
Saving your favorite destinations is important for three main reasons:
1) If the destination you are looking for is saved, it will be easier to access the results if you have it saved directly in "My favorite destinations".
2) Every time a house that meets the requirements is added, you will be notified.
3) Preferred destinations are also important for those members who are looking for guests to stay. This way, when you save a search, you can be contacted by members who are doing a reverse search that matches what you are looking for.